4th Schedule of Indian Constitution | UPSC Indian Polity Notes

4th Schedule of Indian Constitution

Intro: The 4th Schedule of Indian Constitution plays a crucial role in the allocation of seats for each state and union territory in the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of Parliament. This schedule ensures a proportional  representation of the diverse demographic and geographical expanse of India, reflecting the federal structure of the nation. It balances the representation of populous states with smaller ones, thus maintaining a form of equitable representation across India’s varied regions. the allocation is based on the population of each state and is subject  to periodic revisions to accommodate changes in demographic.

Articles related to 4th schedule of Indian Constitution 4(1) and 80(2)

Allocation of seats in the Council of States

To each State or Union territory specified in the first column of the following table, there shall be allotted the number of seats specified in the second column thereof opposite to that State or that Union territory, as the case may be:


1.    Andhra Pradesh 11
2.    Telangana 7
3.    Assam 7
4.    Bihar 16
5.    Jharkhand 6
6.    Goa 1
7.    Gujarat 11
8.    Haryana 5
9.    Kerala 9
10.Madhya Pradesh 11
11.Chhattisgarh 5
12.Tamil Nadu 18
13.Maharashtra 19
14.Karnataka 12
15.Odisha 10
16.Punjab 7
17.Rajasthan 10
18.Uttar Pradesh 31
19.Uttarakhand 3
20.West Bengal 16
21.Nagaland 1
22.Himachal Pradesh 3
23.Manipur 1
24.Tripura 1
25.Meghalaya 1
26.Sikkim 1
27.Mizoram 1
28.Arunachal Pradesh 1
29.Delhi 3
30.Puducherry 1
31.Jammu and Kashmir 4
Total 233

Commentary on 4th Schedule of Indian Constitution

The Constitution of India, in Article 79, provides for a Union legislature that consists of the President and the two houses, namely the House of People (Lok Sabha) and the Council of States (Rajya Sabha). While the Lok Sabha is subject to dissolution, the Rajya Sabha is a permanent body.

The Council of States or the Rajya Sabha (the Hindi name was adopted in 1954) represents the states and the Union territories, and it is a permanent house in which members are indirectly elected by state legislative assembly members (MLAs).

Strength of Rajya Sabha

Article 80 provides the total strength of the Rajya Sabha:

  • The maximum strength of the upper House is 250, out of which 238 members represent the states and the Union territories (with legislature) and 12 members nominated by the President.
  • The Nominated members are eminent personalities from different walks of life, such as literaturesciencearts and social work.
  • The current strength of the House is 245.

The division of these numbers state-wise is given in the 4th schedule as provided in the table above. These members are elected by the respective elected members of the Legislative assembly of the states.

No UTs other than Delhi and Puducherry are represented in the Rajya Sabha, as only these two UTs have legislative assembly.

List of Amendments in 4th Schedule of Indian Constitution

Amendment Description
Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956 ReorganisationReorganisation of states in India, and formation of 14 states and 6 Union territories, with complete reorganisationreorganisation of seats in the Rajya Sabha
Andhra Pradesh and Madras (Alteration of Boundaries) Act of 1959 Reassignment of seats to Madras and Andhra Pradesh
Bombay Reorganisation Act, 1960 Reassignment of seats to Maharashtra and Gujarat
State of Nagaland Act, 1962 Creation of Nagaland and assignment of seats
Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966 Reassignment of seats to Punjab and Haryana
Madras State (Alteration of Name) Act, 1968 Change in the name of Madras to Tamil Nadu
Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970 Creation of Himachal Pradesh and assignment of seats
Mysore State (Alteration of Name) Act, 1973 Change in the name of Mysore to Karnataka
Constitution (Thirty-sixth Amendment) Act, 1975 Creation of Sikkim and assignment of seats
State of Mizoram Act, 1986 Creation of Mizoram and assignment of seats
State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986 Creation of Arunachal Pradesh and assignment of seats
Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987 Reassignment of seats to Goa
Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 Reassignment of seats to Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 Reassignment of seats to Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh
Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 Reassignment of seats to Bihar and Jharkhand
Pondicherry (Alteration of Name) Act, 2006 Change in the name of Pondicherry to Puducherry
Uttaranchal (Alteration of Name) Act, 2006 Change in the name of Uttaranchal to Uttarakhand
Orissa (Alteration of Name) Act, 2011 Change in the name of Orissa to Odisha
Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 Reassignment of seats to Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

Jammu and Kashmir

Reorganisation Act, 2019

Change in the constituency of Jammu and Kashmir

Note: Currently, all 28 states and 3 Union Territories, namely Delhi, Puducherry, Jammu, and Kashmir, are assigned seats in the Rajya Sabha.


The 4th schedule of Indian Constitution, detailing the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha to each state and Union  territory, underscores the essence of federal representation in India’s parliamentary democracy. Through its meticulous allocation and periodic amendments, it ensures that each region’s voice is heard in the legislative process, thereby reinforcing the principle of unity in diversity. 

This schedule not only facilitates a balanced representation of states in the national legislature but also adapts to the evolving administrative boundaries and demographics of India.

For Further Reference:

Other Related Links:

Indian Constitution: All Articles 1st Schedule of Indian Constitution
2nd Schedule of Indian Constitution 3rd Schedule of Indian Constitution
5th Schedule of Indian Constitution 6th Schedule of Indian Constitution
7th Schedule of Indian Constitution 8th Schedule of Indian Constitution
9th of Indian Constitution 10th Schedule of Indian Constitution
11th Schedule of Indian Constitution 12th Schedule of Indian Constitution
Fundamental Rights DPSP
Fundamental Duties Amendments of the Indian Constitution

Similar Posts